Earthquakes and geography

15 04 2010

First, let me say that I am humbled that so many of you care enough to inquire about our safety after the earthquake. In response to your many emails and facebook posts (remember, I can’t reply to those, I just get an email telling me what they said.) I’m going to give you a quick Chinese geography lesson. Please don’t think I’m annoyed- I didn’t know a damn thing about where anything was located in China before I lived here. Even now I’m clueless half of the time.

We live in Nanjing City in Jiangsu Province. It’s an 8 million person city full of skyscrapers, oodles of public transportation above and below ground, 2 train stations, 4 bus stations, 1 airport and home of the 7th tallest building in the world. It’s on the east coast, about 90 miles northwest from Shanghai.

Jiangsu province is on this map, yellow, on the far right. The earthquake was in Qinghai province- the big yellow splotch in the center. And it was in the southern part of the province, bordering Tibet (the big southwestern orange splotch next to India.

AND China and the US are about the same size. So Nanjing is in D.C and the earthquake was in Colorado.

Long story short, we are A-OK. Unfortunately, the poor citizens of Qinghai are not so lucky with their province’s wealth and infrastructure. Keep them in your thoughts!

love, Missy

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

